The votes were counted on 5th of October for the Gandhinagar Municipal corporation election which went to poll on 3rd October. Bharatiya Janata Party sweeped the results by winning 41 out of the 44 seats in the Municipal corporation election. Indian National Congress and Aam Aadmi Party had to undergo a big defeat in the elections. Congress could only grab 2 seats in the elections while Aam Aadmi Party could only get 1 seat.

This Gandhinagar Municipal corporation elections can be marked as a significant elections because next year the state is going in an Assembly elections. And it seems BJP with this big win has announced that they are ready to take over the upcoming Assembly election. The final figure of the voting stood at 56.24 per cent. These polls were held after the ruling BJP removed Vijay Rupani from the chief minister’s post and gave Bhupendra Patel charge of the top seat recently.A total of 161 candidates contested in Gandhinagar, with the BJP and Congress fighting from all 44 seats and the AAP from 40. In the previous Gandhinagar municipal corporation elections, Congress gave a tough fight to the BJP as both parties bagged 16 seats each.

DISCLAIMER: The author is solely responsible for the views expressed in this article. The author carries the responsibility for citing and/or licensing of images utilized within the text.