After the completion of the vote-counting on Thursday, Droupadi Murmu, the NDA’s presidential candidate, was formally declared as the nation’s 15th president.

Yashwant Sinha received 1,877 votes with a value of 3,80,177, while Murmu received 2,824 votes with a value of 6,76,803.

4,809 MPs and MLAs participated in the voting that was conducted on July 18.

President-elect Droupadi Murmu received the certificate at her residence in Delhi from PC Mody, Secretary General of the Rajya Sabha and Returning Officer for the 2022 Presidential Election.

Draupadi Murmu thanked her colleagues, MPs, and MLAs in a series of tweets, writing that she was overjoyed by their support.

She also praised the Indians for supporting her rise to the highest rank in the Indian Army. According to Draupadi Murmu, she promised to strive for the advancement of Adivasis and tribal peoples nationwide the day she was nominated for the presidency. She will fulfil her pledge now that the time has come.

In a tweet, Draupadi Murmu honoured Shri Jagannath by expressing her gratitude to the deity for all of her accomplishments to date.


DISCLAIMER: The author is solely responsible for the views expressed in this article. The author carries the responsibility for citing and/or licensing of images utilized within the text.