And the concept of time in history

“The time concept of modern archaeology, and modern anthropology in general, resembles the general cosmological-historical time concept of Europe’s Judeo-Christian culture, a cosmological-historical time concept which is linear and progressive. Click image to see larger

This differs from the cyclical cosmological-historical time concepts of the early Indians and others in Asia who’s collective memories extend further back along with a greater expertise in calculus to chart and record greater periods of cosmological time.

“Hindu historical literatures, particularly the Puranas and Itihasas, place human existence in the context of repeating time cycles called yugas – tens of thousands of years, and kalpas, lasting hundreds of millions of years. During this entire time, according to the Puranic accounts, humans coexisted with creatures in some ways resembling the earlier tool making hominids of modern evolutionary accounts.”

A Vedic Conception of Time

“Outside of the three planetary systems, the four Yugas multiplied by one thousand comprise one day on the planet of Brahma. A similar period comprises a night of Brahma, in which the creator of the universe goes to sleep.” (Srimad Bhagavatam, Canto 3, Chapter 11, Text 22)

The ERRONIOUS Yuga Cycles

“Each yuga cycle is composed of 4 yugas. The first, the Satya-yuga, lasts 4800 years of the demigods. The second, the Treta-yuga, lasts 3600 years of the demigods. The third, the Dvapara-yuga, lasts 2400 years of the demigods. And the fourth, Kali-yuga, lasts 1200 years of the demigods. Since the demigod year is equivalent to 360 earth years, the lengths of the yugas in earth years are, according to standard Vaishnava commentaries, 432,000 years for the Kali-yuga, 864,000 years for the Dvapara-yuga, 1,296,000 years for the Treta-yuga, and 1,728,000 years for the Satya-yuga.

“This gives a total of 4,320,000 years for the entire yuga cycle. One thousand of such cycles, lasting 4,320,000,000 years, comprises one day of Brahma, the demigod who governs this universe. A day of Brahma is also called a kalpa. Each of Brahma’s nights lasts a similar period of time. Life is only manifest on earth during the day of Brahma. With the onset of Brahma’s night, the entire universe is devastated and plunged into darkness. When another day of Brahma begins, life again becomes manifest.

“Each day of Brahma is divided into 14 manvantara periods, each one lasting 71 yuga cycles. Preceding the first and following each manvantara period is a juncture (sandhya) the length of a Satya-yuga (1,728,000 years). Typically, each manvantara period ends with a partial devastation. According to Puranic accounts, we are now in the twenty-eighth yuga cycle of the seventh manvantara period of the present day of Brahma.”

“This would give the inhabited earth an age of about 2 billion years. Interestingly enough, the oldest undisputed organisms recognized by paleontologists – algae fossils like those from the Gunflint formation in Canada – are just about that old.** Altogether, 453 yuga cycles have elapsed since this day of Brahma began. Each yuga cycle involves a progression from a golden age of peace and spiritual progress to a final age of violence and spiritual degradation.” ~

If you think the priesthood of scientific orthodoxy will roll over and accept the existence of lost civilizations, extremely ancient man, and other mysteries reported in Atlantis Rising, don’t hold your breath. But if you happen to be a member of that priesthood, or merely adhere to its precepts, don’t be surprised to find your sacred tapestries slowly unravelling.

The cause

Scientists have discovered a previously unknown planetary body thought to come close to the sun every 26000 years and ancient Hindu observers relate this to being a driving force of the Yuga Cycles.

What’s at stake?

The nature of humanity – that means you and me, who we are, where we come from, where we are going. Who are the main players? The high priests of science – who say we are an accident of nature, essentially meaningless – are being challenged by a new breed of writers, researchers and scientists who have broken the spell of scientific materialism. These visionaries seem to know instinctively that the ‘priesthood’ has not told humanity’s true story, that the world’s ancient traditions convey essential knowledge about humankind which many experts deliberately ignore. Often equipped with broad, interdisciplinary backgrounds, these new researchers have been liberated from the myopia of modern science, which, while studying the minutia of nature’s tree fail to behold the forest.

Atlantis Rising has featured the work of many of these trailblazers: Graham Hancock, Robert Bauval, D.S. Allan and J.B. Delair, Richard Thompson, Michael Cremo and others.


The Earth’s wobble – the earth wobbles on its axis like a spinning top as it slows. A complete wobble takes about 26,000 years = one yuga cycle.

Divided x 12 (= 2166) we get the 12 signs of the zodiac as in astrology.

Ancient astronomers have observed this and the knowledge has been passed down through history; but as human life and memories are short in relationship to this time period, so monuments have been constructed to mark the passage of time.

It may be that Stonehenge and some megalithic sites contain clues to this information and the Gaza Pyramids definitely do.

I expect that because humans are innately aggressive – or corrupted and language has changed, little knowledge has survived into today.

Further reading:
History within the Yuga Cycle
Sadhguru on the Yugas.

DISCLAIMER: The author is solely responsible for the views expressed in this article. The author carries the responsibility for citing and/or licensing of images utilized within the text.